The Inheritance of Beauty, by Nicole Seitz

The Inheritance of Beauty is not a particularly challenging read, but it’s not straightforward, either. The reader must piece together the story, through both flashbacks and present-day narrations from several residents–at least some of whom are suffering from dementia–of a South Carolina nursing home.

I will admit that at times I had a hard time sorting out what was real and what was possibly invented in the characters’ imaginations, but I think that Nicole Seitz intentionally wrote the novel this way so that the reader would experience a bit of the mental fogginess plaguing some of the characters in their later years.

The Inheritance of Beauty was, for me, suspenseful and enjoyable, but I didn’t love it. I found the circumstances to be a bit far-fetched, and the supernatural elements toward the end seemed confusing and out-of-place. Still, the plot was interesting, and I would like to read one of Nicole Seitz’ other four novels in order to better understand who she is as an author.

My rating: 4/5

Disclosure: I received a free review copy of this book from the publisher through BookSneeze. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.

Leave a Reply

