South Beach Diet

So I decided to try the South Beach diet, since it embodies most of the principles I was thinking about trying anyway…now I just have a title for what I’m doing. 🙂 I had heard mostly good things about the South Beach Diet for a couple of years but never looked into it until this point because I figured, with a trendy name like “South Beach Diet,” it must be some unhealthy fad diet. But I read the book, and it seems to make sense.

There are three phases of the South Beach Diet…I am starting with phase one, which eliminates grains/starches, fruits, and pretty much all sugars (lactose in dairy products is considered okay) for two weeks. I have read in several places that a nursing mom really shouldn’t do phase one, and instead go directly to stage two, but I think that is probably for lactating mothers of young infants. Baby Boy is almost ten months old and is getting a lot of his nutrition from solid foods at this point. Plus, I am eating lots of protein and plenty of calories, so I don’t think my milk will dry up.

I don’t miss bread at all. I do miss my morning bowl of oatmeal, and I miss fruit. But I know the deprivation is only for two weeks, and then I can start adding things back in. I have been following the diet for a couple of days, and I feel really good. I am realizing that grains might have a tendency to produce bloating and gas in me (I know it would probably help if I diligently soaked my grains as a good Nourishing Traditions devotee should), because I have had a marked decrease in these annoyances since I stopped eating grains. I am feeling less sluggish, and I have had a lot of energy. I think my stomach has gotten a little flatter.

Updated to add: Oh, yeah, another thing that has motivated me to change my eating habits is an episode I had about two weeks ago. I woke up in the middle of the night with terrible, horrible stomach cramps. I mean, they were so bad, they woke me up out of a deep sleep. It felt like I was in labor, except the pain was steady instead of coming in waves, like contractions. I honestly thought I must be pregnant without knowing it and was having a miscarriage. But after about fifteen minutes of me moaning and crying and writhing, the pain subsided, and I was able to drift back to sleep. In the morning, I was absolutely fine. I figured out that I wasn’t pregnant, so to this day, I don’t know if it was just bad menstrual cramps or related to something I ate, but man, I don’t want to experience that again.

3 responses to “South Beach Diet

  1. I used to have cramping episodes like that…followed by about an hour in the bathroom. I’m glad you skipped that part! For me, it was the hydrogenated oils. I would get those “tummy attacks” after too much junk. Especially Goldfish crackers…Welcome to the Beach!!

  2. Hey–Just wanted to inquire and see how the diet is going? ANd breastfeeding? Looking forward to hearing more about it.I enjoy hearing about your endeavors. Thanks for sharing:)Love Candice

  3. That sounds like a typical gall bladder attack, if you have another after eating something spicy or high in fat that woudl be the first thing to ask the Dr. about.Lela http://www.xanga.com/lmcs79

Leave a Reply

