The Bridge of Peace, by Cindy Woodsmall

The Bridge of Peace is the second book in the Ada’s House trilogy by Cindy Woodsmall. I thoroughly enjoyed it, and I’m looking forward to reading the third book when it comes out in Fall 2011.

Lena Kauffman is a witty, fun-loving schoolteacher whose independent ways surprise and upset members of the Amish community in which she lives. Although she radiates inner beauty, Lena is convinced that she is unlovable because of a prominent birthmark on her face. When things begin to go awry at the schoolhouse, Lena is unjustly blamed, and her teaching position is threatened. The Bridge of Peace also continues the stories of many characters introduced in book one, The Hope of Refuge.

Cindy Woodsmall is an expert at exploring her characters’ everyday relationships in cozy settings. That’s not to say this book isn’t suspenseful–it is, and if I didn’t have three kids to care for, I probably would have read it in one sitting because the plot is so engaging. But Cindy knows the ins and outs of the Amish lifestyle so well that she is able to provide just the right touches to make me feel like I’m right there observing life in a peaceful Amish town.

There are some other very good Amish fiction writers, but I’d have to say that Cindy is my favorite. I’ve read all of her books, and each has been top-notch.

My rating: 5/5

Leave a Reply

