Shades of Blue, by Karen Kingsbury

I read this book on the recommendation of a friend, and I’m glad I did. It definitely bolstered my opinion of Karen Kingsbury after the last book of hers I read–Redemption. My biggest criticism of that book was its utter predictability, but Shades of Blue kept me guessing until close to the end.

Brad Cutler, weeks away from his wedding, finds himself haunted by memories of his high school girlfriend and remorseful for the way he hurt her and then walked out of her life. He wants to make things right, but what will that mean for his relationship with his fiancée?

More than a romance novel, Shades of Blue is really a book about honesty, about bringing dark secrets into the light to deal with them and find healing. I admired the main character, Brad, for obeying his conscience and taking responsibility for his actions, no matter the cost. The characters of Brad’s fiancée, Laura, and his ex-girlfriend, Emma, are believable and well-developed within the scope of this book. One scene toward the end of the book is a particularly touching portrayal of forgiveness.

A few cliché-sounding phrases popped out at me, but all-in-all, I enjoyed Shades of Blue very much and especially appreciated the vulnerability and sensitivity of the author’s note at the end of the book.

My rating: 4/5

Leave a Reply

