Our Love Story, Part 4

Part 1/Part 2/Part 3

My mind and heart are racing at a million miles per minute….

Because T saw me in the cafeteria and asked me to save him a seat while he got his dinner. When he came to the table, he told me that he had made arrangements to tutor at the elementary school with me (I had mentioned to him that they needed more tutors), and we made plans to drive over together the next morning. T also invited me to come with him to a children’s ministry workshop at his church the following Saturday.

Now I was pretty sure T liked being around me, too, and I hoped that he was interested in being more than just friends. I was unaware of the inner struggle T was going though until he explained it to me much later–that is, at 28 and never having had a girlfriend before, it was a big step for him to decide to start a relationship. He liked me, but he wanted to make sure that he was acting in obedience to God and not just on his own desires.

T kept praying and praying and not really getting a clear answer until he came to I Corinthians 7 as the passage to read in his one-year Bible on February 25. He was using the New Living Translation, which says in verse 35, “I want you to do whatever will help you serve the Lord best, with as few distractions as possible.” T realized that that was his answer. He knew he would be better able to serve the Lord married than single, and so (one of the things I love about T is that when he knows the right thing to do, he doesn’t waste time), that evening, he followed me out of the cafeteria after dinner, found me in the lobby checking my mail, and asked, “Could I borrow you for a few minutes?”

I said, “Sure,” and we went outside. As we were walking along on the sidewalk, he said, “I think you and I need to talk.” My heart was thumping and my stomach was tight with anticipation. I really wasn’t sure which way this was going to go. Would he ask me to be his girlfriend, or would he say we needed to stop spending time together?

(To be continued…)

Go to Part 5.

6 responses to “Our Love Story, Part 4

  1. So dear, Melissa :o) Thanks for sharing your precious story – such a joy to see God’s hand in it all!!

  2. Pingback: Our Love Story, Part 5 | Anxious for Nothing

  3. Pingback: Our Love Story, Part 6 | Anxious for Nothing

  4. Pingback: Our Love Story, Part 3 | Anxious for Nothing

  5. Pingback: Our Love Story, Part 8 | Anxious for Nothing

  6. Pingback: Our Love Story, Part 7 | Anxious for Nothing

Leave a Reply

