Our Love Story, Part 7

Part 1/Part 2/Part 3/Part 4/Part 5/Part 6

For our 1-month anniversary, T took me to a rhododendron garden. There’s something magically exhilarating about being newly in love and walking together amidst bright blooms of every hue. I remember thinking, I wish everyone in the world could be as happy as I am right now. T took my hand as we entered the garden (for the first time since the night he asked me to be his girlfriend), and I don’t think he let go other than to snap a few pictures, such as this one:

In March, we went on tour with the college choir and spent every possible moment of free time together. We had some important heart-to-heart talks while sitting next to each other on the bus.

T told me that he didn’t really like the idea of having a long-distance relationship over the summer, so we started praying about the possibility of my staying in town. Soon after, an older college student that we both knew from choir approached T and asked, “Would Melissa be interested in a live-in nanny situation for the summer?” I met the family right after choir tour, and it was arranged that, come summer, I would care for their twin daughters in exchange for room and board. T and I were encouraged by that quick answer to prayer.

Right after school got out, we went on tour to Alaska with the smaller ensemble we were part of. We gave one or two concerts a day in churches large and small. Here’s T working the sound board:

And here I am (on the end), singing my little heart out:

Here’s the whole group. I’m in a gray sweatshirt, and T’s behind me wearing a green hoodie:

Summer went by quickly. I was grateful to have a place to stay, even though my job was challenging (those twins were firecrackers!). The family I was nannying for happened to live right down the street from T, which was convenient. In mid-July, T and I were leaders for Vacation Bible School at his church (which had become my church, too, by that point). Here I am wearing my V.B.S. garb. Don’t ask, ’cause I don’t know, and this is the only time you’ll ever see me wearing orange:

I had no idea that one week later, T would take me completely by surprise….

Go to Part 8.

4 responses to “Our Love Story, Part 7

  1. Pingback: Our Love Story, Part 6 | Anxious for Nothing

  2. I’m really enjoying your courtship story. It’s so pure but romantic at the same time. I love reading your blog as it’s very uplifting. I can’t wait to read part 8! Keep up the great work! Michelle

  3. Pingback: Our Love Story, Part 8 | Anxious for Nothing

Leave a Reply

