The Hunger Games, by Suzanne Collins

This is not the type of book I usually read, but it is the best book I’ve read in a long time. I am kicking myself for not putting books two and three of the trilogy on hold at the library at the same time I put The Hunger Games on hold–now I have to wait to read them, and the suspense is driving me crazy!

The Hunger Games really is a phenomenal book. I can’t think of any aspect of it that I would change. The characters are well-developed, the plot is amazing, and Suzanne Collins’ writing style is simple, but powerful.

Katniss Everdeen, age 16,  is one of twenty-four contestants forced into a Gladiator-style game of skill and strategy. You can’t help but admire Katniss’ courage, intelligence, and integrity as she fights to survive in a system fraught with injustice and brutality. She is a true heroine and a very memorable character.

My rating: 5/5

One response to “The Hunger Games, by Suzanne Collins

  1. Pingback: Catching Fire and Mockingjay, by Suzanne Collins | Anxious for Nothing

Leave a Reply

