Book Review: Lady in Waiting, by Susan Meissner

Lady in Waiting is a tale of two Janes–16th century Lady Jane Grey and modern-day Jane Lindsay, who manages a New York antiques store and suddenly discovers that her 22-year marriage is not as secure as she has always assumed it to be. Susan Meissner subtly draws parallels between the two Janes and the choices they face.

When I realized that half of this book centers around English nobility in the mid-1500’s, I was a little concerned that I wouldn’t be able to follow the plot, since I’m not very familiar with that period of history. But Susan Meissner brings the era to life with sumptuous descriptions, relatable characters, and enough historical explanation gently woven in that the story of Lady Jane “grabbed” me just as much as Jane Lindsay’s journey. The account of Lady Jane is told from the perspective of a hardworking, talented young seamstress named Lucy Day.

The plot of Lady in Waiting moves along at just the right pace. I did not feel like it was dragging at any point. It was interesting and engaging all the way through.

My rating of Lady in Waiting is 5/5, the same rating I gave the last Susan Meissner book I read, Blue Heart Blessed.

You can read the first four chapters of Lady in Waiting here (PDF file).

Disclosure: I received a free review copy of this book from WaterBrook Multnomah. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.

Leave a Reply

