Book Review: A Cowboy’s Touch

I almost didn’t choose this book to review because the title sounded so, well…like a sappy, passionate romance novel, the kind that husbands tease you for reading. I’d never heard of Denise Hunter before, but I checked the ratings of her other books on Amazon, and they are all very high, so I decided to give this one a try. This novel does approach the threshold of what would be considered appropriate for a Christian romance. It’s clean, but it’s not tame. Think “Big Sky”-high romantic tension, throughout the whole novel. The setting is a ranch in Montana; the main characters are a scandalously handsome cowboy and the woman he hires as a nanny for his 11-year-old daughter. Neither Wade nor Abby knows what they’re getting into. He doesn’t date…ever; she doesn’t dare give her heart to a man she’ll only have to betray. And yet the attraction they feel for each other won’t allow itself to be suppressed.

A Cowboy’s Touch features a quick-moving plot and likable characters. I found myself wanting to give the characters advice from time to time (mainly, “Be completely honest with each other! Sheesh! How hard is it, really?”), so I guess that’s a sign that the book is engaging. I liked A Cowboy’s Touch and rate it 4/5. The only reason I can’t rate it higher is that I thought Denise Hunter could have found a more original way to phrase things in places.

Disclosure: I received a free review copy of this book from the publisher through BookSneeze. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.

Leave a Reply

