Book Review: Indelible, by Kristen Heitzmann

First things first: this is not really a stand-alone novel, which I didn’t realize when I agreed to review it. So I spent most of the novel feeling a bit out-of-the-loop. If you’re interested in reading Indelible, you really should start with Indivisible, which I still have not read. If you squint really hard at a picture of the cover of the book, you can make out that it says, “author of Indivisible,” under Kristen Heitzmann’s name, but I didn’t notice that line until I had the book in my hands, and even if I had, I still might not have made the connection that one book follows the other. So, WaterBrook and other publishers take note: readers really appreciate being able to easily tell if a book is a stand-alone or part of a series.

With that out of the way, I must also note that this book was grittier than I prefer, in terms of creepiness, violence, and mental health issues. However, I think Kristen Heitzmann excelled in maintaining a high level of mystery and suspense throughout the novel.  Unfortunately, the whole book seemed overly-contrived to me. I never was able to really get sucked into the story and forget I was reading a book.

One of the things that was a distraction to me is the fact that there are so many extraordinary individuals, possessing physical and/or mental abnormalities, living in such a small town. Also, it seems like just about every character had an extremely dysfunctional family of origin. Overall, I just felt like there was too much drama, drama, drama.

The book was not so bad that I wouldn’t try reading something else by Kristen Heitzmann, but I can’t recommend this particular book.

Disclosure: I received a free copy of this book from WaterBrook. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.

Leave a Reply

