Book Review: Hidden Affections, by Delia Parr

Annabelle Tyler and Harrison Graymoor are forced to marry after knowing each other for only a day. They plan to keep their marriage secret and have it annulled as soon as they can prove they said their vows under duress, but one thing after another seems to go wrong and the situation becomes more and more complicated.

The very memorable first sentence of Hidden Affections hooked me and made me want to read the rest of the book. I found it to be a fun, quick read, perhaps a bit predictable from the start (it is a romance after all; do you really think the hero and heroine can live together, married, for quite some time, and then just walk away from each other at the end of the book?), but I didn’t really mind. This is one of those “it’s more about the journey than the destination” romances.

I liked the character of Irene, the good-hearted servant who could say and do anything she pleased because she could not legally be fired. The characters of Annabelle and Harrison were unexceptional, although Annabelle’s faith in God does come across as sincere, and is a key element in the story.

Disclosure: I received a free copy of this book from Bethany House. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.

Leave a Reply

