Music Review: Abide with Me, Featuring Phillip Keveren

I would describe this solo piano CD as mostly peaceful and mellow, with definite jazz influences. There are lots of familiar songs on here (mostly hymns with a few modern worship songs), but Philip Keveren’s arrangements are creative and unpredictable, in a good way. He plays confidently and yet with great sensitivity.

My personal favorite songs on Abide with Me are “For the Beauty of the Earth,” for its intriguing harmonies; “A New Hallelujah,” for the amazingly beautiful way Keveran interprets the song’s chorus; and “We Gather Together,” for the ethereal way he weaves the melody in among a series of very interesting chord progressions.

This is the kind of music I like to have playing as background music in my house throughout the day, or while driving. I put it on the other day when our church fellowship group met at our house and several people commented on how pretty the music was.

You can listen to a brief clip of each of the fifteen songs on this album here.

Disclosure: I received a free copy of this CD from Discovery House Music. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.

Leave a Reply

