Review: Pacific Natural Foods All-Natural Pizza

When I looked at the online ad of a local health food store and saw that these all-natural thin-crust pizzas frozen pizzas were on sale for $3.99 each, I checked around online to see if anyone had written a review of them. I couldn’t find any reviews, so I decided to try the pizzas and write a review myself.

Today I cooked up a Supreme pizza and a Canadian Bacon and Pineapple pizza for the kids and myself for lunch. The first thing I noticed about the pizzas is that they are small–about 14 ounces each, and 9 inches in diameter.

The second thing I noticed is that the toppings are pretty sparse. 2 whole pieces and 3 half-pieces of Canadian bacon and 14 pineapple tidbits on one pizza, and 8 pepperoni slices and a sprinkling of toppings on the other.

The instructions said to place the pizzas directly on the oven rack, or onto a cookie sheet for a softer crust. I opted for cookie sheets, since taking hot pizzas directly off an oven rack sounded like a burn waiting to happen.

Here they are cooked:

The pizzas smelled yummy, and I was hungry! The cheeses browned nicely. The sauce was sweet and very mildly spicy. I thought the flavor of the sauce was very good. I liked the crust. It was crisp on the bottom and a little bready under the sauce.

Canadian Bacon and Pineapple pizza: Delicious, but needed three times the toppings.

Supreme pizza: Nice bell pepper flavor. Pepperoni and sausage tasted great. The ONE olive slice on the entire pizza unfortunately had a squishy cardboard texture.

Verdict: I try to avoid feeding my kids preservatives and other yucky chemicals, so I like that these pizzas are all-natural. I even gave a cut-up slice to my 11-month-old, and she ate it all. The other kids (ages 3 and 4) liked it well enough. The four of us polished off the two pizzas. The flavor of the pizzas was good, but I was disappointed by the meager toppings. I might buy these pizzas again at $3.99 each, but I definitely wouldn’t pay more than that for them. I believe the regular price is around $7 each. In my opinion, they are not worth that much.

Leave a Reply

