Book Review: Restless in Carolina, by Tamara Leigh

I had several false starts before I really got into this book (not to mention the fact that I misplaced my review copy and had to go check the book out from the public library), but once I embraced the book for what it is, which is southern chick lit, I was able to enjoy it. What annoyed me at first is that the book starts out with an unrealistic conversation between the main character, Bridget, and her twin 5-year-old niece and nephew about Bridget’s personal life. Then I realized that maybe the conversation was only unrealistic to me because I’m not southern, and I’m not used to people being “in each other’s business” to the degree they are in this book.

All that aside, Bridget is feisty and unique (there probably aren’t too many books in which the main character keeps an opossum for a pet), and the way she works through her grief over her husband’s death four years earlier and her subsequent anger with God seems realistic.

I wish the character of J.C. Dirk had been developed more and that he and Bridget spent more time together in the book, but I guess there’s only so much an author can do in 300-ish pages.

Restless in Carolina is the third book in the Southern Discomfort series by Tamara Leigh, but it stands alone well. I have not read the other books in the series, but I had no trouble following the characters or plot of this book.

Disclosure: I received a free copy of this book from WaterBrook. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.

Leave a Reply

