The Christmas Singing, by Cindy Woodsmall

I am a big fan of Cindy Woodsmall. I have read all of her books, receive her newsletter, “like” her on Facebook, etc., so I was super excited to have the opportunity to review her new novella, The Christmas Singing. The story centers on Mattie Eash, a creative and scatterbrained cake decorator who is trying to move on with her life after the man she loved dumped her with no explanation. I recognized some of the characters from Cindy Woodsmall’s earlier novella, The Sound of Sleigh Bells. The Christmas Singing can stand alone, but I recommend reading The Sound of Sleigh Bells first.

I was a little disappointed in The Christmas Singing, and here’s why: compared with the high standard of Cindy’s other novels, The Christmas Singing seemed predictable and formulaic. Some of the phrasing is awkward, and some of the dialogue is unrealistic. Considering that it is the book’s title, I thought that the Christmas Singing aspect should have been explained and played up a little more. And I know that a novella only has so many pages to work with, but I really thought there should have been more overall interaction and romantic tension (it is a romance novel, after all) between Mattie and Gideon.

All that aside, though, The Christmas Singing is a pleasant, cozy holiday read, and I do recommend it, even with its faults. Cindy Woodsmall is still one of my favorite authors, and I look forward to reading her novella, The Scent of Cherry Blossoms, when it comes out in February 2012.

You can read an excerpt of The Christmas Singing here.

Disclosure: I received a free copy of this book from WaterBrook. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.

One response to “The Christmas Singing, by Cindy Woodsmall

  1. Pingback: More on Cindy Woodsmall’s Latest Book | Anxious for Nothing

Leave a Reply

