Family Update

This is our first year of homeschooling. D.L.F. learned to read when he was three and has had his head in a book ever since, but this year, we have added math and handwriting. He is getting the hang of both, and Cupcake is picking up a lot as well. D.L.F. is participating in a community youth choir, and he and Cupcake both love going to AWANA every week. At 16 months now, Smiley is such a sweetheart, always giving kisses and following us around. She has learned to walk within the past few weeks, and her ratio of walking to crawling is heavy on the walking side now. She also has quite a few words, or at least sounds she consistently uses to represent particular words. She is very good at communicating. She loves to be read to, and is constantly shoving books at us, exclaiming, “Boo! Boooooo!”

T is employed at a job he loves, which is such a blessing. He is a wonderful Papa and a romantic and caring husband, and I am so blessed to be married to him. I thank God for him every single day.

I am back in college, working toward a Bible and Theology degree (no, I don’t know what I’m going to “do” with it; it’s more for personal enrichment at this point, and I am open to God’s leading for the future). I’m in a degree completion program, so I only have class one night a week, but there is a lot of outside work, more than I anticipated. I’m loving it, though. I always hoped I would get to finish college one way or another, and I’m grateful that the opportunity opened up for me to go back.

We just put up most of our Christmas decorations, and I’m starting to think about holiday baking. I think my favorite type of holiday cookie is Snowballs, a.k.a. Mexican Wedding Cakes, a.k.a. Russian Tea Cakes.

That’s it in a nutshell. 🙂

Leave a Reply

