A Wedding Invitation, by Alice J. Wisler

This book was disappointing for me. I never did figure out how the beginning of the story, when Samantha Bravencourt accidentally attends the wrong wedding, ties in with the rest of the book. The plot is extremely slow-paced. I wanted to like Samantha’s love interest, Carson, but I couldn’t. He was a wimp. In moments that called for him to pursue her, he backed off. Samantha and Carson are at odds with each other for most of the book, and not in a romantic tension/repressed passion sort of way where you know they’re really just aching to fall into each other’s arms and start smooching. Rather, they are cold and distant and bitter, because they are both lousy at communicating. The actual words of this book are written well enough, but the plot and characters did not hold my interest.

While I don’t recommend this book, I have read another of Alice J. Wisler’s books, Hatteras Girl, which I liked better than this.

Disclaimer: I received a free copy of this book from Bethany House Publishers in exchange for my honest opinion. I was not required to write a positive review.

Leave a Reply

