Grain Free Sugar Free Day 14

I have lost thirteen pounds in fourteen days. I’m pretty happy with that, and I am fairly confident that I will reach (maybe exceed?) my goal of losing twenty pounds in sixty days. I know the rate of weight loss is fast, too fast to sustain over a long period of time, but I think it’s normal to lose quite a bit of weight at the beginning of a diet, especially if you are significantly overweight to start (which I was/am, at least according to typical BMI charts). I know that at least several pounds of the weight lost was probably water weight, because for the first couple of days after going low-carb, I had to pee, like, every twenty minutes. Sorry if that’s TMI, but I figure anyone reading a weight loss post wants to know about the nitty-gritty details. I’m drinking a lot of water and still eating plenty of calories. I don’t have time to mess with counting calories, but I estimate that I’m probably eating around 1600-1900 a day. I’m still nursing my almost-two-year-old occasionally, so I know she’s taking at least some of those calories.

My cravings for junk food are finally subsiding, and bread and crackers don’t tempt me. I’m feeling too good without them to want them. I downloaded an audiobook from the library called Wheat Belly, and it is helpful in understanding why so many people these days, myself included, have a hard time digesting wheat. The book is full of case studies of people who cut wheat out of their diet and have had amazing results: weight loss, improved moods and ability to concentrate, more energy, etc.

Leave a Reply

