Grain Free Sugar Free Day 17

Last night I made “lasagna,” with sliced eggplant instead of lasagna noodles. T and I thought it was great. The kids weren’t fans of the eggplant, but maybe it’s an acquired taste. I was pleased with how it turned out, since the last time I made a similar dish with eggplant, it turned out runny and watery. This time, I salted the sliced eggplant rounds, let them sit for a few hours, then rinsed them and patted them dry really well with paper towels. I broiled them on a greased baking sheet for about 5 minutes on each side. Preparing the eggplant this way really helped the “lasagna” to be nice and thick, instead of watery.

Even though I overindulged a little at dinner, I still didn’t feel bloated and tired afterward, the way I know I would have if the lasagna had been made with noodles.

Using vegetables as substitutes for wheat is becoming more intuitive and fun for me. I can see myself doing this long-term. I’ve been trying to reduce the amount of wheat my kids eat, too, so instead of giving them graham crackers for a snack, for example, I’ve been giving them apple slices and cheese.

5 responses to “Grain Free Sugar Free Day 17

  1. Oh this reminds me!! I was going to make zucchini lasagna, and I’m about to head to the grocery store….THANK you! ❤

  2. I think you’re right…eggplant is an acquired taste. Have you thought of using carrot instead, which might be more to your children’s taste? If you want to try that…I’ve sliced carrots length-wise and then microwaved them first so they’d be soft before putting them into the lasagna. A thought to ponder. 🙂

Leave a Reply

