Book Review: Over the Edge, by Mary Connealy

This is the third book in the Kincaid Brides series. Having read the previous books, I was excited to have the opportunity to read and review this one. Mary Connealy wraps up most of the loose ends from the other two books (leaving room open, however, for a fourth book). There is plenty of action, and the book is engaging and entertaining until the end, but I have to say that her writing in this book seems rushed and forced, more so than in the first two books of the series. It seems like she tried too hard to build romantic tension, and after a while, I got tired of reading how much Seth really, really wants to be intimate with his wife. Thanks, I understood it the first time and don’t need to be reminded on every other page.

I also felt like the character of Seth’s wife, Callie, was really underdeveloped. Connealy could have done so much more with her, but instead Callie is basically a one-dimensional spitfire and polecat who literally snarls and growls. Really? I have never heard a woman snarl and growl like a wild animal. There is one scene where Callie says she is ugly, and I thought Connealy was going to go deeper with that, maybe go more into why Callie felt ugly–not just on the outside, due to present circumstances, but on the inside, because of past hurts. I expected Callie to go through some change and healing, just as Seth must, but it doesn’t turn out that way.

If you have already read the first two books in this series, it is probably worthwhile to read this book as well. Overall, the Kincaid Brides books make up a fun series.

Disclosure: I received a free copy of this book from Bethany House. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.

Leave a Reply

